Description of the project

Share this holiday idea!

Wild coast of the peninsula of Arvert

The Côte sauvage refers to a portion of the French coastline forming the western part of the Arvert peninsula, in the department of Charente-Maritime, in the New Aquitaine region. A large rectilinear stretch between the Pointe Espagnole (to the north) and the Pointe de la Coubre (to the south), entirely within the perimeter of the municipality of La Tremblade, it can be seen as an extension of the Landes coast beyond the Gironde estuary.

Forming a vast beach about twenty kilometres long, it is bordered by dune massifs, themselves partly fixed by the state forest of La Coubre, a pine forest corresponding to the state forest of Pointe de Grave.

Facing due west, unlike the sheltered beaches of the nearby Côte de Beauté, it is subject to strong currents (bay phenomena) and swells, making it the most dangerous sector of the entire Charente coastline1. Most of this vast area is not recommended for swimming, except for three supervised zones (in July-August) at the Pointe de la Coubre, the Bouverie and the Pointe Espagnole. A surfing spot (La Palmyre/La Coubre) is set up near the Pointe de la Coubre: like all those on the wild coast, it is ranked among the most dangerous spots in France by the magazine Surf Session2.

Description du projet

Côte sauvage de la presqu’île d’Arvert

La Côte sauvage désigne une portion du littoral français formant la partie occidentale de la presqu’île d’Arvert, dans le département de la Charente-Maritime, en région Nouvelle-Aquitaine. Large étendue rectiligne comprise entre la Pointe Espagnole (au nord) et la pointe de la Coubre (au sud), entièrement comprise dans le périmètre de la commune de La Tremblade, elle peut être vue comme un prolongement de la côte landaise au-delà de l’estuaire de la Gironde.

Formant une vaste plage longue d’une vingtaine de kilomètres environ, elle est bordée de massifs dunaires, eux-mêmes partiellement fixés par la forêt domaniale de la Coubre, une pinède répondant à la forêt domaniale de la pointe de Grave.

Orientée plein ouest, au contraire des plages abritées de la Côte de Beauté toute proche, elle est soumise à de forts courants (phénomènes de baïnes) et à la houle, en faisant le secteur le plus dangereux de tout le littoral charentais1. La plus grande partie de ce vaste espace est déconseillée à la baignade, hormis trois zones surveillées (en juillet-août) à la pointe de la Coubre, à la Bouverie et à la Pointe Espagnole. Un spot de surf (La Palmyre/La Coubre) est aménagé à proximité de la pointe de la Coubre : à l’instar de tous ceux de la côte sauvage, il est classé parmi les spots les plus dangereux de France par le magazine Surf Session2.