Description of the project

Share this idea!

Pons, the first capital of the Santon people

Pons has a particularly rich history and a very ancient origin, which makes it one of the oldest cities in the department. Its foundation thus predates that of Saintes, Saint-Jean d'Angély, Saujon or Marennes, all towns of Saintonge, of Roman - and not Celtic (santonne) - origin, whereas the majority of the towns of Aunis such as Châtelaillon-Plage, La Rochelle, Surgères are of medieval origin.

The distant origins of Pons go back to the dawn of the Protohistoric period when the sheltered rock site on the edge of the Soute valley favoured the sedentarisation of the first inhabitants.

But it is really only in the pre-Roman period that Pons will play an important role because of the settlement of the Celtic Santons people around the middle of the 1st millennium BC where the rocky promontory of the primitive city will shelter what will become the oppidum of Pons.

During the period of the Santons of Independence, Pons quickly became an active centre for crafts and trade and developed its exchanges with the Romans.

Pons during the Gallo-Roman period

When the Santons submitted to the armies of Julius Caesar in 52 BC, the Romans occupied manu militari the oppidum of Pons and transformed it into a castrum. They also built a typical Roman city and made Pons an important crossroads.

However, the abandonment of the castrum after the second half of the 1st century A.D. sounded the death knell for the Gallo-Roman city which, in the course of the 2nd century, suffered a devastating fire during the invasion of the Alamans.

After a hasty reconstruction, it experienced a short period of peace narrated by the poet Ausone, but with the fifth century came new barbarian invasions even more destructive, especially those committed by the Vandals in the autumn of 408, when the city disappeared for many centuries.

 

However, the revival of the small city will take place at the beginning of the Middle Ages thanks to the rise of Christianity in Saintonge.

Description du projet

Pons, la première capitale du peuple Santon

Pons possède une histoire particulièrement riche et une origine fort ancienne, qui en fait une des plus anciennes cités du département. Sa fondation est ainsi antérieure à celle de Saintes, Saint-Jean d’Angély, Saujon ou encore Marennes, toutes des villes de Saintonge, d’origine romaine — et non celte (santonne), alors que la majorité des villes de l’Aunis comme Châtelaillon-Plage, La Rochelle, Surgères sont d’origine médiévale.

Les origines lointaines de Pons remontent à l’aube de la période de la Protohistoire où le site de roche sous abri en bordure de la vallée de la Soute a favorisé la sédentarisation des premiers habitants.

Mais ce n’est véritablement qu’à la période préromaine que Pons va jouer un rôle important du fait de l’implantation du peuple celte des Santons vers le milieu du Ier millénaire av. J.-C. où le promontoire rocheux de la cité primitive va abriter ce qui deviendra l’oppidum de Pons.

Pendant la période des Santons de l’indépendance, Pons devient rapidement un centre actif d’artisanat et de commerce et développe ses échanges avec les Romains.

Pons pendant la période gallo-romaine

Lorsque les Santons se sont soumis aux armées de Jules César en 52 av. J.-C., les Romains ont occupé manu militari l’oppidum de Pons et l’ont transformé en castrum. Ils firent également construire une cité typiquement romaine et firent de Pons un important carrefour routier.

Cependant, l’abandon du castrum après la seconde moitié du ier siècle de l’ère chrétienne sonna le glas de la cité gallo-romaine qui, dans le courant du iiie siècle, connut un incendie dévastateur lors de l’invasion des Alamans.

Après une reconstruction à la hâte, elle connut une courte période de paix narrée par le poète Ausone mais avec le ve siècle surgissent de nouvelles invasions barbares encore plus destructrices, en particulier celles commises par les Vandales à l’automne 408 où la ville disparaît pendant de longs siècles.

 

Cependant, le réveil de la petite cité aura lieu au début du Moyen Âge grâce à l’essor du christianisme en Saintonge.